Introducing Inkberrow First School Governing Body


We are an active Board of Governors who support Inkberrow First School in a variety of ways. Overall, we seek to be a ‘critical friend’, so as to ensure that our local community school is supported and challenged in its vital task of educating and preparing children for life in 21st century society. Each year we produce an Annual Report summarising the activities that have been undertaken, and our latest report (for the academic year 2017/18) is available here for your information.


On the 1st August 2017 Inkberrow First School became a Founder Member of the Avonreach Academy Trust (AAT), along with Cherry Orchard First School, Norton Juxta-Kempsey First School, and Pershore High School.  The IFS Governing Body remains unchanged following the formation of AAT, and is composed as follows: 


Parent Governors (x2):                                     Maggie Hazlewood and Lou Chance

Staff Governors (x2):                                        Heather Thomson (Headteacher) and Abbie Holliday

Co-Opted Governors (x10)                               Ann Derbyshire (Chair); Lisa Tagg (Vice-Chair)

                          Rob Hughes; Jenny Rose; Mike Pashby; Mike Newbury;

                                                                         James Booton; Chris Burdett; Vacancy x 2


In addition to the above Governors, the Governing Body is also supported by 6 Associate Members,                                who provide specialist advice on matters such as Finance, H&S, Business/Commercial matters.

If you would like to find out more about the role of a Governor, please take a look at our Governors' Handbook and Policies documents or contact the Clerk, via the school office, for more information. 

Further details regarding the Terms of Office of the IFS Governors and Associate Members, the roles and responsibilities undertaken by the IFS Governing Body, their attendance record and their Register of Interests is available here.